Winners of the inaugural Benelux OSPAs have been announced

Nov 24, 2020News

The presentation of the Benelux OSPAs took place virtually on Tuesday, 24th November 2020 as part of the ASMC Digital Congress, following the OSPAs Thought Leadership Summit.

OSPA winners were selected by an esteemed panel of leading industry figures representing security associations from across the Benelux; who judged entries using the same criteria which is applied to the OSPAs across the world.   Each winner demonstrated they had performed at an exceptional level and have shown their commitment and outstanding performance to the security sector in a definable way.

The winners are:

Outstanding Security Team
Solvay Group Security

“The Solvay Group Team is extremely proud and honored having been selected as the winner of the award. Especially as we are a relatively young team in the organisation and are on a longer term path to excellence, getting this recognition from peers is a real boost!”Werner Cooreman – Solvay Group Security Director 

Outstanding Security Consultant
Robrechts & Thienpont

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative
Belgium Railway Customer Service Initiative – SNCB

Outstanding Police/Law Enforcement Initiative
PZ Leuven & UZ Leuven Partnership Initiative

“This award is a huge recognition for our permanent collaboration and we are proud that our great results in the field have also led to the winning of this award.

I hope that our cooperation also can serve as an example for others to set up structural partnerships between police and private security in order to be able to pursue a more effective policy in creating a safe environment.”
Wim Maes – UZ Leuven Head of Security

Outstanding New security Product

Outstanding Information Security Company

Outstanding Young Security Professional
Dirk Pichel PCI PSP CPO – FedEx Logistics

When I entered the security profession years ago, it was very much an old-boys network. With the help and guidance of experienced professionals, I’ve found my way and winning this award is an acknowledgment of the work put in. It’s important to recognize there are many Young Professionals who are starting to find their way in the security field. As professionals, both young and experienced, we should act as mentors to our future successors. For me this award shows rising security professionals, efforts do not go by unnoticed and Young Professionals are not simply security professionals of the future; they/we are valuable contributors to the development of the profession.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Marc Thienpont – Robrechts & Thienpont

“I am very very proud, honored and happy with this distinction. It was a complete surprise, I did not know that my colleagues had introduced my nomination and to be honest I was completely focused on the nomination of R&T for the OSPA of “Outstanding Security Consultant” and had not noticed that an Award for Lifetime Achievement would also be granted. Paul Robrechts sent me a mail at noon and asked me to prepare some words for the closing of the Award ceremony in my quality as life honor member of the ASIS Benelux chapter. Fortunately I did this and I prepared some words otherwise I would not have been able to say what so ever, so overwhelming was the emotion. I know that my speech was probably not to the point, but it was the only thing I was able to say.

Meanwhile I received many congratulations from people I know and some I don’t know, but they all indicated that I deserved this Award. Like I said there is no greater honor than to be elected by his peers.

I would like to thank you for launching this initiative as it will motivate and boost people to run “the extra mile” and bring security in general to a higher level.”

Congratulations to all the finalists and especially the winners.

More information on each of the winners is available to view here:

The OSPAs would like to thank all the judges who took part in the 2020 Benelux OSPAs – whose commitment to the awards is invaluable – and to the supporting associations for their help in bringing the awards to the Benelux. A very special thanks to Security Management and the ASMC Team for their collaboration. Our thanks also go to Edith Cowan University for sponsoring the OSPAs Trophies and Certificates globally.

What’s the latest?

Join our brand new Security & Risk Thought Leadership Newsletter