The finalists of the inaugural 2020 Benelux OSPAs have been announced

Oct 15, 2020News

Recognising the valuable contribution the security sector makes in protecting people, property and assets, the OSPAs showcase the very best organisations, teams, individuals and initiatives that the sector has to offer and acknowledges their considerable achievements. This year the OSPAs have teamed up with ASMC to present the awards virtually, and we are pleased to announce the first ever Benelux OSPA finalists.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the OSPAs, said:

“We are delighted to be able to bring the OSPAs to the Benelux this year during such challenging times, and especially to see so many exceptional nominees in the inaugural edition of these awards.  The standard of entries was exceptional and were marked independently against set criteria by the judges nominated from the many leading supporting associations.

The finalists are:

Outstanding Security Team

Solvay Group Security
Securitas Forensic Psychiatric Centers Ghent & Antwerp Team
Workrate Security Team

Outstanding Security Consultant

Gerben Verbaan – Sodexo
Robrechts & Thienpont
Prof. Dr. Sc. Mitko Bogdanoski – Military Academy “General Mihailo Apostolski”, CYSEG, C3I

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

Human Systems – Workrate
Abeer Mohammad – KRM Security Services Ltd
Belgium Railway Customer Service Initiative – SNCB

Outstanding Police/Law Enforcement Initiative

PZ Leuven & UZ Leuven Partnership Initiative
Ghent University – PZ Zennevallei Predictive Policing Project
ALPR Solution – Genetec

Outstanding New Product

VAMS® HI Secure – V-Authenticate Systems
Corona Virus Exposure Tracker & COVID-19 Restrictions Map – Safeture AB
Signpost Six Insider Risk Management (IRM) Programme

Outstanding Information security company


Outstanding Young Professional

Dirk Pichel PCI PSP CPO – FedEx Logistics
Prof. dr. Wim Hardyns – Ghent University & University of Antwerp
Nibhana Shetty – Philips

 The Lifetime Achievement Award winner will be revealed on the day.

Winners will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony on Tuesday 24 November as part of ASMC’s Digital Congress. The event will provide a chance to listen to expert speakers and take part in Thought Leadership, as well as participate in networking opportunities after the awards. The whole programme will take place in the afternoon and it is free for anyone to attend.

Find out more about the programme and register here:

What’s the latest?

Join our brand new Security & Risk Thought Leadership Newsletter